The Malta Film Commission is a government body established by CHAPTER 478 (Act No. 7 of 2005) of the Laws of Malta, consisting of an advisory body for the role of advising the Minister responsible for the film sector on policies pertaining to the promotion, development and support of the audiovisual and film servicing industry. The board is composed of a chairman and five board members, as well as the Film Commissioner who is responsible for the implementation of Malta’s audiovisual policy.

The Film Commissioner has the responsibility to assist the production of films in Malta and the set up of industries for the production of films in Malta and to market the locations, facilities, skills, talent and expertise available in Malta in order to attract inward investment in the form of international audiovisual productions shooting on the island.

It is also the Commissioner’s function to analyse, assess and certify the eligibility of projects and, or beneficiaries for tax or other incentives provided by the Government of Malta, to approve co-productions and represent Malta and its audiovisual industry on international film bodies.

The Malta Film Commission can be contacted as follows, or through the form below.

Malta Film Commission

Malta Film Commission
Caraffa Stores
Cottonera Waterfront
Vittoriosa BRG 1721

Tel:   +356 2180 9135
Mob:  +356 9980 9137
Fax:  +356 2780 9136


Film Commissioner: Engelbert Grech ( )